Prof. Pollock, Chair of the Department of Materials Science & Engineering at University of California, Santa Barbara visited CWRU as part of the annual Van Horn Lecture Series and also visited with the JJL group. She toured the AMMRC facility and discussed various ongoing projects with the JJL group. Each of the JJL group students presented their work and received excellent feedback.

Tresa Pollock is the Alcoa Professor and Chair of the Department of Materials at the University of California, Santa Barbara. She graduated with a B.S. from Purdue University in 1984, and a Ph.D.  from MIT in 1989. Dr. Pollock was employed at General Electric Aircraft Engines from 1989 to 1991, where she conducted research and development on high temperature alloys for aircraft turbine engines. She was a professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University from 1991 - 1999 and the University of Michigan from 2000 - 2010. Her current research focuses on the processing and properties of structural materials and coatings and on the use of ultrafast lasers for microfabrication and materials diagnostics.

John J. Lewandowski, the Arthur P. Armington Professor of Engineering II in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Case Western Reserve University, has received the 2014 Leadership Award from The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society (TMS). The organization gives the award annually to recognize an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the national and international materials community in the fields of metallurgy and materials.

Lewandowski accepted his award at a ceremony during the TMS Annual Meeting in San Diego Feb. 18. Research group members Mohsen Seifi and Jesi Booth attended the TMS meeting and made multiple presentations.


The Program Management Review is a meeting for all of the America Makes Members to meet and discuss the status of projects. CWRU and CMU are leading a team of Universities (CWRU, CMU, WSU, UL, NCSU), Companies (GE, P&W, Lockheed, Kennametal, Bayer), and Government Labs (NIST, ORNL) to investigate Rapid Qualification Methods For Powder Bed Direct Metal AM Processes.

Mohsen Seifi, Doctoral researcher and Jessi Booth master student made four presentations at the 2014 TMS annual meeting in San Diego. Presentations included topics on: Fracture and Fatigue Behavior of Titanium Aluminide (Mohsen); Sensitization Effects on the Fatigue Properties of Al-Mg Naval Alloys (Mohsen) and two talks on bulk metallic glasses by Jessi Booth. Shown above are Narges Seifi, Professor Jennifer Carter, Mohsen Seifi, Professor Lewandowski, Jessica Booth, and Azin Akbari.

John Lewandowski (seated), professor of Materials Science and Engineering, has received the Arthur P. Armington Professorship in Engineering II. Professor Roger Quinn from the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering is the other holder of the Armington professorship.

Established in 1968, the professorship was created by the Armington family in memory of Arthur P. Armington, a Case Institute of Technology 1915 graduate. In January of this year, the university Board of Trustees approved amending the professorship to establish a second chair.